CCIJ established its Honorary Council in 2008. The Council is made up of ten esteemed Canadians who have made exemplary contributions to law, human rights and international justice: 

The Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, former judge of the Saskatchewan provincial court, has served as Canada’s High Commissioner to Kenya and Uganda and Ambassador to Somalia and the Comoros. Since being named to the Canadian Senate in 1993, she has served on numerous committees, often involving matters related to foreign affairs and human rights.

Maher Arar is a telecommunications expert and Syrian-born Canadian. In 2002, he was detained by US officials at a US airport before being removed to Syria where he was beaten, tortured, and forced to make a false confession. Now cleared of all charges by a public inquiry in Canada, Mr. Arar is a passionate advocate of human rights and civil liberties with the hope that the horrors he experienced will not happen to other Canadian citizens.

The Honourable Madam Justice Louise Arbour has a long and distinguished career as a professor, lawyer, judge and advocate for human rights and international justice. She is widely known for her work as Chief Prosecutor of War Crimes at the International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the Former Yugoslavia, as a Justice with the Supreme Court of Canada from 1999 to 2004, and her more recent service as UN High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, former Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, had a distinguished political career spanning 30 years. The founding Director of the Liu Institute for Global Issues at the University of British Columbia, Dr. Axworthy is now President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg. He has been nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize and is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Dr. Ed Broadbent began his political career as an MP in the House of Commons. He served as the leader of the New Democratic Party for 14 of his 21 years in Parliament. After a brief return to politics in 2004, Dr. Broadbent founded The Broadbent Institute in 2012. He is currently a Fellow in the School of Policy Studies at Queen’s University. Dr. Broadbent was made a Companion of the Order of Canada in 2001.

Justice Philippe Kirsch chaired the historic negotiations to establish the International Criminal Court (ICC) – the world’s first permanent legal body where individuals are tried for genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes. The ICC was inaugurated in The Hague in 2003, and Justice Kirsch was elected as one of its first judges and its first president. Justice Kirsch also has a distinguished background in foreign service, having served as a Canadian Ambassador and in other high-level posts within the Department of Foreign Affairs. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1988 and made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2009 for his important contributions to the field of international criminal law.

The Honourable Madam Justice Claire L’Heureux-Dubé was the first woman from Quebec appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada, where she served from 1987-2002. Among her numerous accomplishments, her work as an activist for the promotion of human rights through equality is widely recognized as being at the forefront of Canadian law.

Erna Paris is the author of seven acclaimed books of literary non-fiction, the winner of ten national and international writing awards, and the former Chair of the Writers’ Union of Canada. She began her writing career as a magazine journalist, book reviewer, and radio documentary broadcaster (in French and English). Erna’s books explore themes related to the history, politics, and implications of massive human rights abuses, and the important role of the emerging system of international justice.

David Scott is Co-Chairperson and counsel with Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. Certified by the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC) as a Specialist in Civil Litigation, he has held both the Milvain and Silas Hylak Chair in Advocacy, was elected a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, and was its first Canadian President in 2003-04. Mr. Scott was awarded The Advocates’ Society Medal and the Carleton Medal from the County of Carleton Law Association. In 2005, he received the Ontario Bar Association Award for Excellence in Civil Litigation and in 2011, he was invested as an Officer of the Order of Canada.